Open vision bar

Johnson City Schools announces District Level Teachers of the Year

2021-2022 Teachers of the Year

Johnson City Schools is proud to announce our 2022-2023 District Level Teachers of the Year. These teachers were honored by their schools as building teachers of the year. The nominees were then reviewed by a district-wide committee that included former teachers of the year and administrators.

Mary Archer of Woodland Elementary was selected as the PreK-4 division winner, while Liberty Bell teacher Helen Martin won the grades 5-8 division. The 9-12 division winner is Science Hill teacher Kevin Vannoy.

“We are very proud of our three teachers of the year and our building-level winners,” Johnson City Schools Superintendent Steve Barnett said. “These educators are great role models for students and colleagues as we all make sure to provide an excellent education for our students. We are proud and thankful for their service and dedication.”

The elementary school building level winners included Jessica Johnson (Cherokee), Sarah Glover (Fairmont), Amy Ford (Lake Ridge), Sandra Lilly (Mountain View), Kim Boone (North Side), Johnnie Sue Hawley (South Side), and Kellie Bowman (Towne Acres).

At the middle-grade level, the winners included Indian Trail teachers Reva Rhea, Averil Chaney and Amy Duncan. At Liberty Bell, the teachers honored were Kevin Howard and Galina Rozhkova. The Virtual Academy’s Teacher of the Year was Caroline Bauguess.

The Science Hill building level winners included Kayla Clawson, Holly English, Russ Minatel, Rachel Norris and Celia Street. Johnson City Schools will honor all of these teachers during the board meeting on Monday, February 7.

Back to School News       Print